International forum




Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2004, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior International Member
 
femuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 209
femuse is an unknown character at this point femuse is an unknown character at this point
Unhappy I got a virus_here

HELP ! ! ! ! !

on Nov 19, 13.03 my time, c.a.d 19.03 in France.

I definitively tracked it down from a link I accessed from this site.

Anybody else reported that? I do I get rid of it ?

I use AVG free version and it looks like it is unable to do it. It deleted one labelled "virus" , and left this one:

in C:\WINDOWS\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\UXOHGJE5
Trojan Horse. Downloader Agent.3.OB mmviewer_101[1].cab : "infected - embedded object"

It looks like it is fairly well known.

I think it comes from my clicking on Kajtek signature "un peu de musique?". I found a pop-up I got at the same time as the virus: thisdaythatyear.com

I won't try to go there again. Maybe Kajtek could let us know if thisdaythatyear.com has anything to do with his signature. Did I reach that from another link on this site?
thisdaythatyear.com MAY BE responsible, but I am not trying to blame somebody here - I am just trying to heal my computer.



In C:\WINDOWS\Local Settings\......\27EL6XS5
I found: "Catoa19z.htm", here is its content: [I tried to break everything in little piece to make it safe]


*** Code Download Log entry (19 Nov 2004 @ 13:03:38) ***

Code Download Error: (hr = 800b0004) Trust verification failed!!

Operation failed. Detailed Information:

CodeBase: http:

//fad-408.mtl4.targetnet.com/ad/id=vijaykittu&opt=hkj
&pt=13735638087446892303&pfin=HSAHF5RIAKNK&
cv=210&uid=1218803726&url=http:
//www.ouchvideo.com/mmviewer_101.cab



CLSID: {EBBD88E5-C372-469D-B4C5-1FE00352AB9B}

Extension:

Type:

LOG: Reporting Code Download Completion: (hr:800b0004 (FAILED), CLASSID: ebbd88e5..., szCODE:
(http://fad-408.mtl4.targetnet.com/ad...kittu&opt=hkj&
pt=13735638087446892303&pfin=HSAHF5RIAKNK&cv=
210&uid=1218803726&url=http:
//www.ouchvideo.com/mmviewer_101.cab), MainType:
((null), MainExt:
(null))

--- Detailed Error Log Follows ---

LOG: Download OnStopBinding called (hrStatus = 0 / hrResponseHdr = 0).

LOG: URL Download Complete: hrStatus:0, hrOSB:800b0004, hrResponseHdr:0, URL:
(http://fad-408.mtl4.targetnet.com/ad/id=vijaykittu&
opt=hkj&pt=13735638087446892303&
pfin=HSAHF5RIAKNK&cv=210&uid=1218803726&
url=http:
//www.ouchvideo.com/mmviewer_101.cab)

LOG: Reporting Code Download Completion: (hr:800b0004 (FAILED), CLASSID: ebbd88e5..., szCODE:
(http://fad-408.mtl4.targetnet.com/ad/id=vijaykittu&
opt=hkj&pt=13735638087446892303&
pfin=HSAHF5RIAKNK&cv=210&uid=1218803726&
url=http:
//www.ouchvideo.com/mmviewer_101.cab), MainType:
(null), MainExt:
(null))


I don't know a thing about computers, but I wonder: "Trust verification failed!!" could that mean it is not really an active virus ?

... and the one deleted by AVG was inst201[1].exe
in C:\WINDOWS\Local Settings\......\SRUZ2F2X

Does that mean the virus is now disabled ?

HELP ! ! ! ! !




(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 10:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Nani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,439
Nani has a spectacular aura about Nani has a spectacular aura about
Default

try to delet your temporary files .. then scan your computer with the anti virus you have ... when you scan it it should be cleaned after you emptied your temporary files.
what version of windows are you using ?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 10:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
:)
 
bernhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: warsaw
Posts: 2,275
Blog Entries: 10
bernhard has a spectacular aura about bernhard has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via ICQ to bernhard Send a message via AIM to bernhard Send a message via MSN to bernhard Send a message via Yahoo to bernhard Send a message via Skype™ to bernhard
Default

First of all, use Firefox to browse the web, as IE has many security lacks.

Do you have windows XP ? Is your windows version Up to date ?
__________________
Bernhard
(Admin)

suggestions ?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 10:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
:)
 
bernhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: warsaw
Posts: 2,275
Blog Entries: 10
bernhard has a spectacular aura about bernhard has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via ICQ to bernhard Send a message via AIM to bernhard Send a message via MSN to bernhard Send a message via Yahoo to bernhard Send a message via Skype™ to bernhard
Default

The link you speak of, thisdaythatyear.com has no relation with http://www.baaba.terra.pl/ the site of the signature of Kajtek , I just checked it precisly. No calls for other sites or for dangerous software.... but first of all do as Nani said .
__________________
Bernhard
(Admin)

suggestions ?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 10:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
just kajtek
 
kajtek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warsaw (hip hip hurray)
Posts: 1,304
kajtek has a spectacular aura about kajtek has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to kajtek
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by femuse
Maybe Kajtek could let us know if thisdaythatyear.com has anything to do with his signature. Did I reach that from another link on this site?
thisdaythatyear.com MAY BE responsible, but I am not trying to blame somebody here - I am just trying to heal my computer.


Maybe Kajtek could not let you know because he/she doesn't know about what you talk. The link in Kajtek's signature is clear.
But he/she thinks you shouldn't go to open this link : it is not a kind of music that you would appreciate.
__________________
*think well if you really would say that in your language to the person who could understand you

it's just one of millions forums, nothing else


musique in the air
Traduction Polonais Alpes Traduction
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 11:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior International Member
 
femuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 209
femuse is an unknown character at this point femuse is an unknown character at this point
Default

First:

I did not say it was directly from Kajtek 's signature. Sorry, this being a live link, I thought it was meant to be clicked [by the way, I am in the music business, that was why I was interested in checking it]

I said "I am sure it was from a pop-up I got from clicking on a link - not from the link itself". That link could have been hijacked without the owner knowing about it.

Next:


I have win98 SE.

We have "moved" the offending file , replacing it with a dummy one (same name - harmless).

Now, the antivirus program does not find any virus in Content.IE5. But, I don't trust that something is left behind.

We have temporary moved the "real" mmviewer_101[1].cab to "C:\Temp" until we are sure it can be safely deleted.
Can it now be deleted safely ?

Thank you all for your prompt answers.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Technical help - Aide technique : The international discussion forum : I got a virus_here

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC5 - vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
International forum : traduction - translation - übersetzung
| Agence de Traduction || Discussion : forum, chat || Zidane || magasin en ligne (marques) || Elections presidentielles || vélo électrique || Shopping discount |

magazine internet || piscine référence || Forum adsl || Une agence de traduction, eine Übersetzungsagentur : Traduction allemand Französisch Übersetzung - Agence Traduction allemand